Sign of the Ship Wrecked
  • Print
Written by Strawbery Banke Archive

Detail Sign of the Ship / SeacoastNH.comStrawbery Banke Presents
HISTORIC PORTSMOUTH #135

Strawbery Banke boasts two 18th century taverns, Stoodley’s and William Pitt, but this one is lost. Demolished circa 1914, the "Sign of the Ship" (the building on left) stood at the corner of Court and Atkinson streets. Built circa 1700 it was later used as a 19th century Catholic meeting site.


 


HISTORIC PHOTOS of the Greater Portsmouth Area appear here weekly


Former


 From HISTORIC PORTSMOUTH
Early Photographs from the Collections of Strawbery Banke
by James L. Garvin & Susan Grigg, Peter Randall Publisher
(c) Strawbery Banke Museum . All rights reserved

SEE ALSO:  Old Bell Tavern 

BONUS PIX
Surviving Taverns Stoodleys & William Pitt Postcards

Stoodley's Tavern on Daniel Stt before it was moved in 1964 / SEACOASTNH.com

William PItt Tavern (aka Earl of Halifax) Portsmouth, NH / SEACOASTNH.com